Provo City Justice Court

75 E 1700 S, Suite 100, Provo, UT 84606 | (801) 852-6878

HOURS: Monday - Friday 8:00AM - 5:00PM (Excluding state and local holidays)

 

Courthouse Rules


  • NO WEAPONS. This includes any sharp or bladed instrument. Security is not allowed to hold these items for you. Please leave them at home or in your vehicle.
  • CELL PHONES. Cell phones are permitted in the courthouse but must be turned off while in the courtroom.
  • PROPER DRESS IS REQUIRED. No shorts, tank-tops, halter-tops, mini skirts or clothing with inappropriate pictures or words. You may be asked to reschedule your hearing if you are not properly dressed.
  • NO CHILDREN ALLOWED IN THE COURTROOM.

 

Payment Options for Traffic/Criminal Cases


Pay by Phone

Payment by Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover credit/debit card can be made over the phone by calling (801) 852-6878, Monday-Friday (excluding state and national holidays) between the hours of 8AM and 5PM.

Pay in Person

Appear at the Provo City Justice Court located at 75 E 1700 S, Suite 100, Provo, Monday-Friday between the hours of 8AM and 5PM.  

Pay by Mail

Remit check or money order. Do not send cash. Include citation or case number on the check or money order. Payments need to be received by the court by the due date to avoid additional penalty amounts. Mail payment to the Provo City Justice Court, 75 E 1700 S, Suite 100, Provo, Utah, 84606.

Pay Online

To make a payment online you will need your citation or case number. Payments may be made on the Utah Court Website. After selecting the link, enter your case number and select Provo City Justice Court from the drop down menu.

Community Service

You may request that the Court allow you to perform community service in lieu of paying some, or all, of a fine for Class B and C Misdemeanors and Infractions. Community service will be credited at a rate of $10/hour. Please contact the court to make an appearance before the judge if you would like to request community service in lieu of paying your fine. (UCA 76-3-301.7) 

 

Beginning January 3, 2017, Parking Tickets will be paid and appealed at PROVO311 Customer Service. You may call 3-1-1 or (801)852-6000 or visit in person at 351 West Center Street in Provo.

 

Traffic Citations


If you were pulled over and received a citation, you are required to give the Court five (5) days to receive your citation information before you try to resolve the citation. You will be given 20 days from the date the citation is issued to resolve your citation before late fees will be added, and 30 days before a warrant will be issued.

When citizens are given a moving violation, they have a few options on how to resolve it.

  • Pay the fine amount which is established by SUBS
  • Speak with a traffic clerk if they wish to contest.
  • If eligible it may be resolved through traffic school.

 

Traffic School


If you were cited for a moving violation, you may be eligible to resolve your citation through traffic school. Those that take traffic school will receive the benefit of having the charge dismissed which will keep points off of their driving record, as well as learn skills to become a better driver.

As a convenience the judge has approved an online traffic school course. Provo City no longer offers a live class. Please be aware that traffic school would be an additional cost. You must contact the court to inquire of your eligibility and to sign up.

Any other traffic school requests would need to have the prior approval of the judge. This can be done by submitting the class information along with a Request to the Judge Form.

 

Small Claims


Provo City Justice Court has jurisdiction over small claims cases if the defendant (person being sued) resides in Provo City or the debt arose within the Provo City limits.

Small claims can be filed for a claim up to $11,000. The claim must be for actual damages (can't file for treble damages).

The fee to file a small claims case is:

  • $60 if the claim is less than $2,000
  • $100 if the claim is for $2,001-$7,500
  • $185 if the claim is between $7,501-$11,000

Learn More »

 

FAQs


Contact Information

Contact Us

Staff Title Departments Phone Email
Belmont, Ranee Deputy Court Clerk Justice Court (801) 852-6878
Davis, Adriene Lead Deputy Court Clerk Justice Court (801) 852-6878
Flores, Lourdes Deputy Court Clerk Justice Court (801) 852-6878
Hansen, Shaun Deputy Court Clerk Justice Court (801) 852-6878
Hargis, Jodi Traffic Clerk Justice Court (801) 852-6878
Jensen, Yolanda Lead Deputy Court Clerk Justice Court (801) 852-6878
Newton, ReAnnun Court Administrator Justice Court (801) 852-6878
Romney, Vernon F Justice Court Judge Justice Court (801) 852-6878
Spratt, Bryan Deputy Court Clerk Justice Court (801) 852-6878
Stewart, Yolanda Deputy Court Clerk Justice Court (801) 852-6878
Wilson, Ashli Deputy Court Clerk Justice Court (801) 852-6878

How do I file an expungement?

Before filing a Petition to Expunge Records, the petitioner must obtain a Certificate of Eligibility issued by the Bureau of Criminal Identification of the Utah Department of Public Safety. The petitioner applies to BCI for the certificate. There is a fee to apply for the certificate. It can take a substantial amount of time for BCI to issue the certificate.

Once the Certificate of Eligibility has been received you will need to fill out the required forms prior to filing them at the Court. You may obtain the forms from the Utah Court Website. The forms required are listed below:

  • Petition to Expunge Records (Choose specific sub-heading that applies to your case)
    • Charges never filed
    • Conviction
    • Drug Possession Conviction
    • Dismissal or Acquittal
    • Special Certificate from BCI
  • Acceptance of Service
  • Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order on Petition to Expunge Records (Choose specific sub-heading that applies to your case)
    • Charges never filed
    • Conviction
    • Drug Possession Conviction
    • Dismissal or Acquittal
    • Special Certificate from BCI

Before filing the forms and Certificate of Eligibility at the court you must deliver them to the Provo City Attorney's Office located at 351 W Center St. After the City Attorney has received them, you may file them at the court. The filing fee will be $135 and any certified copies will be $4 plus .50¢ per page. Please note once the forms are filed with the court it can take up to 60 days for your petition to be signed by the Judge.

How can I reschedule my court date?

To reschedule a criminal/traffic case you must come into the court by Noon the business day prior to your court date to sign a promise to appear. You are allowed only ONE continuance. 

To reschedule a small claims hearing you must come into the court FIVE business days prior to the hearing, to submit a Motion and Order to Postpone. 

Service Provider List

Below are links to help you find a licensed provider for court ordered assessments, treatment and specific classes.  You are responsible to meet the deadlines ordered by the Judge.  After selecting a provider from one of the lists below, make sure to let them know of the time frames you were ordered to complete assessments, treatment and/or specific classes.

If you are a veteran you may qualify for free counseling at the Provo Veteran Center located at 1807 N 1120 W, Provo, Utah  (801)-377-1117

List of State Providers by City

List of State Providers by Name

 

Inquiring about Divorce, Custody, Evictions or Felonies?

Please contact the Provo 4th District Court at 801-429-1000.

How do I get a marriage license?

Contact the Utah County Clerk's office at 801-851-8108

How do I resolve a registration citation?

If your vehicle was registered at the time of the citation you may be eligible for a dismissal.   You may also be eligible for a dismissal if your registration was less than 2 months past due at the time of the citation AND the registration has been brought current within 14 days of the violation.  Proof of current valid registration along with proof that the registration was paid needs to be provided to the court within 14 days of the violation to be eligible for dismissal.

 If you are not eligible for a dismissal under the terms above, you may be eligible for a $10 credit towards your fine with proof of registration.  You will need to provide proof to the court of your current registration for your credit and pay the remainder of the fine.

How do I resolve a fix-it citaiton?

Vehicle safety violations are the only types of charges eligible for a fix-it violation.  Registration and insurance violations are not considered fix-it violations by State law.

Fix-it tickets need to be signed off by a Public Safety Officer and turned into the court within 14 days of the violation to be eligible for dismissal.  

How do I provide proof of insurance?

If you had valid insurance at the time of the citation, you must provide a letter from your insurance company or agent on the insurance letterhead. The letter must include current date, name of insured, vehicle description (must match vehicle on the citation), agent's signature, and citation or case number. Letter also must state coverage was in effect on the date and time the citation was issued with no lapse in coverage. Insurance cards and/or declarations page will not be accepted as valid proof. 

Can I contest my ticket?

Yes. To do this, you must appear at the courthouse to speak with a Traffic Clerk and sign for a court date.