Landmarks Commission

The Landmarks Commission surveys and inventories community historic resources; recommends the designation of historic sites and landmarks; reviews applications for Certificates of Historic Appropriateness; reviews applications for rezoning, conditional use permits, and variances which apply to historic resources; reviews applications for Redevelopment Agency rehabilitation and historic preservation loans; and reviews and comments on nominations for the National Register of Historic Places.

The Landmarks Commission meets the 3rd Wednesday of each month. The pre-meeting begins at 12:00 PM and the public hearing begins at 12:30 PM and can last up to two hours. Special meetings can be held on an as-needed basis.

Commission Members should be able to:

  • Be willing to study and take time to understand Provo City zoning ordinances dealing with historic landmarks
  • Deal with stressful and emotional situations
  • Have a love of preserving our heritage yet welcoming progress


Current members of the Landmarks Commission include:

Board Member  Term Expires 
Matthew Christensen  6/30/20 
Diane Christensen  6/30/21 
Jessie Embry  6/30/22 
Jaisa Bishop  6/30/22 
Jeff Ringer  6/30/23 
Susan Fales  6/30/23 


Nominate yourself or someone else to serve on the Landmarks Commission by filling out the online application.